ESOL International (B2, C1 & C2)

Want to offer these qualifications? Become a Centre

The Gatehouse Awards ESOL International qualifications are internationally recognised and offer a comprehensive assessment of English language ability and skills for non-native English speakers. The qualifications appear on the Ofqual Register of regulated qualifications.

Key Features
  • These qualifications are mapped to the CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages)
  • Qualifications are available at each level as 4-mode (Speaking and Listening, Reading and Writing) qualifications
  • Assessment is on-demand
  • Assessments are via materials written and set by Gatehouse Awards staff
  • All assessment tasks use contexts and situations which are appropriate to the level being tested
  • Unit certification is available
  • Certification turn around times are unrivalled


Our ESOL International qualifications at Levels B2, C1 and C2 are designed for learners who are not native English speakers and who wish to gain an internationally recognised qualification in ESOL. These qualifications are suitable for learners who are preparing for entry to higher education or professional employment in the UK or internationally. The qualifications are available at B2 (Level 1), C1 (Level 2) and C2 (Level 3).

Classic B2 – Level 1

Essential Information:

Title: GA Level 1 Certificate in ESOL International (Classic B2)
QAN: 600/7163/1
Type: RQF
Level: Level 1
TQT: 240 hours

Classic C1 – Level 2

Essential Information:

Title: GA Level 2 Certificate in ESOL International (Classic C1)
QAN: 600/7162/X
Type: RQF
Level: Level 2
TQT: 360 hours

Classic C2 – Level 3

Essential Information:

Title: GA Level 3 Certificate in ESOL International (Classic C2)
QAN: 600/7840/6
Type: RQF
Level: Level 3
TQT: 360 hours